Peace I leave with you

I am not a war correspondent. Neither am I a journalist covering terror attacks or disasters. Whether it is the loss of lives in floods across Sri Lanka or terror attacks in Manchester, Minya, Kabul or London, every one of them is tragic.  What shouldn’t have happened, happened. Amidst all the pain, loss, grief, fear, confusion and trauma, wherever we are in the world, we know the first thing we can and must do – run to Abba Father and His word.

Once again, let us be comforted, strengthened and led by the Holy Spirit and the scriptures, as we continue to pray and intercede:

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” – John 14: 27

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God, I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” – Isaiah 41: 10

The wisdom, love and truth that Jesus presents to the world are hard-to-stomach, unique and radical…

“The stone the builders rejected has become the capstone…” – Psalm 118: 22

“But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.” – Matthew 5: 44

“But I tell you who hear me: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.” – Luke 6: 27 & 28

The Holy Spirit and scripture keep us on track…

“For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through endurance and the encouragement of the scriptures we might have hope.” – Romans 15: 4

“But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.” – John 14: 26

“But the seed on good soil stands for those with a noble and good heart, who hear the word, retain it, and by persevering produce a crop.” – Luke 8: 15

Where there is violence, Jesus offers peace. Where there is pain and suffering, Jesus offers comfort. Where there is hatred, Jesus offers unconditional love and reconciliation. Jesus is the answer.  For God is love.

 

 

